Arts and Humanities Databases

Use the databases listed here to locate sources of information for research on ancient and modern languages, literature, history, philosophy, religion, visual and performing arts, history, anthropology, area studies, communication studies, cultural studies, law and linguistics.

Academic Search Complete
Extensive collection of scholarly journals and general interest magazines.
America: History & Life with Full Text
Index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. Includes full text of over 200 journals and 100 books.
Artemis: Literary Sources
Portal to Gale Group's core literary databases providing access to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline. It covers more than 120,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists, and other write...
ATLA Religion Database
Annual index prepared by the American Theological Library Association to 600 major publications in the field of religion, covering biblical studies, world religions, church history, and social issues, with full-text from more than 50 journals.
Biblical Archaeology Society Online Archive
Full text of Biblical Archaeology Review articles from 1975-present, two other periodicals, and five books published by BAS. Includes images and artwork for articles.
Bibliography of Native North Americans
This database covers all aspects of native North American culture, history, and life, as reported in books, essays, journal articles and government documents from the United States and Canada.
CAIRSS for Music
This is a bibliographic database to 27 research journals in music education, medicine, psychology, and therapy.
Classical Scores Library
Contains 400,000 pages of the most important classical scores and manuscripts, allowing for the study and analysis of more than 15,000 scores.
Communication Source
Worldwide content pertaining to communication, linguistics, rhetoric and discourse, speech-language pathology, media studies and related fields.
Credo Reference
Credo Reference is a general reference solution for learners and researchers. Our full-text content covers every major subject from the world's best publishers of reference.
Ellen G. White Writings
Search the complete published writings including books, pamphlets and articles.
Essay and General Literature Index
Citations to records contained in collections of essays and miscellaneous works published in the United States, Great Britain, and Canada.
Films On Demand
Films Media Group is the leading source of high-quality video and multimedia for academic, vocational and life-skills content. Films Media Group serves the education community through its four brands: Films for the Humanities and Sciences, Cambridge Educational, Meridian Education, and Shopware.
Handbook of Latin American Studies
This bibliography of Latin American resources, produced by the U.S. Library of Congress, includes materials from 1935 to the present, with many open URL links to full-text resources.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text
Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more. Includes the full text of more than 330 journals and 119 books.
Humanities Full Text
Index to academic journals in the humanities dating as far back as 1984. Full text of articles from selected periodicals dating back to 1995, including feature articles, interviews, bibliographies, obituaries, and original works of fiction, drama, poetry and book reviews, as well as reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, radio and television programs, plays, operas, and more.
International Music Score Library Project
Also known as the Petrucci Music Library, this is a virtual library of public domain music scores. It includes a large and growing collection of scores and recordings for tens of thousands of works by thousands of composers.
Lexis-Nexis Academic
This multidisciplinary index and full-text database covers news, legal and jurisprudence literature, medicine, business, and reference sources. Separate databases include congressional information, primary sources in US history, and statistical data.
Literary Reference Center
Full-text from reference works, books, literary journals and other sources. Includes plot summaries, synopses and work overviews, articles/essays of literary criticisms, author biographies, book reviews, classic and contemporary poems, classic and contemporary short stories, author interviews, classic texts and more.
Mango Languages
Computer-assisted language learning software that provides interactive step by step lesson plans for 60+ different languages, including modern languages like English and Spanish, and biblical languages like Koine Greek and Hebrew.
Metropolitan Museum of Art
Free non-commercial access to hundreds of thousands of high-resolution digital images of public domain works in the Museum's world-renowned collection.
MLA International Bibliography
This bibliography includes citations to articles, books, proceedings and other papers on languages, folklore, and literature from 1963 to the present.
Mutopia Project
Sheet music editions of classical music in the public domain, including works by Bach, Beethoven, Chopin, Handel, Mozart, and many others.
Naxos Music Library
The most comprehensive collection of classical music available online. It includes the complete Naxos and Marco Polo catalogues of over 254,000 tracks, including Classical music, Jazz, World, Folk and Chinese music. Whilst listening, you can read notes on the works being played as well as biographical information on composers or artists in Naxos's extensive database.
New Pauly Online
Reference work for the ancient world with special emphasis on the interaction between Greco-Roman culture, and Semitic, Celtic, Germanic and Slavonic culture, as well as ancient Judaism, Christianity, and Islam. Many entries are elucidated with maps and illustrations. Updated bibliographic references.
Newspaper Source
This database includes 30 national and 200 regional newspapers, as well as television and radio news transcripts.
Oxford English Dictionary Online
Updated quarterly with between one and two thousand new and revised entries, OED Online offers unparalleled access to the "greatest continuing work of scholarship that this century has produced" (Newsweek).
Play Index
Covers thousand of plays written from Antiquity to the present. Written in or translated into English, they include mysteries, pageants, plays in verse, puppet performances, radio and television plays, and classic drama.
PsycINFO
Resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations in behavioral science and mental health.
Religion & Philosophy
This database provides extensive coverage from 300 full-text journals on world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, and philosophy.
Short Story Index
Covers all the important collections and anthologies of short stories that are published each year. All literary genres are covered.
Twentieth Century Poetry
This collection of contemporary American and British poetry provides full-text access to the literature.
Web of Science
Quickly find, analyze, and manage information in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities with this versatile workflow solution.
WorldCat
A combined catalog for many libraries around the world, including books, journals, media, and manuscripts.