Health and Medicine Databases

Use the databases listed here to locate sources of information on health and medicine research, including kinesiology and nursing topics.

Academic Search Complete
Extensive collection of scholarly journals and general interest magazines.
Alternative Health Watch
This database includes full-text for 180 publications, covering complementary and alternative medicine, dating back to 1990.
Bioline International
A database of quality, open access journals of bioscience and technology produced in developing countries.
BioMed Central
Free and open access to more than 100 scholarly journals in the biomedical sciences.
CINAHL with Full Text
Comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing indexing to more than 3,000 journals and full text for more than 610, 317 of which are not found in other EBSCO databases.
Health Reference Center Academic
Use this database to find articles on: Fitness, Pregnancy, Medicine, Nutrition, Diseases, Public Health, Occupational Health and Safety, Alcohol and Drug abuse, HMOs, Prescription Drugs, etc. The material contained in this database is intended for informational purposes only.
Health Source - Consumer Edition
Collection of consumer health information available to libraries worldwide, providing information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
This database provides nearly 550 scholarly full-text journals in many medical disciplines, with abstracts and indexing for 850 journals.
HighWire Press
This site hosts the largest repository of free, full-text life science articles in the world.
InfoTrac Newsstand
News articles from more than 1,000 newspapers.
JSTOR - Home
Search our JSTOR collections online. JSTOR is an online system for archiving academic journals, providing full-text searches of digitized back issues of several hundred well-known journals.
JSTOR - Life Sciences Collection
The Life Sciences Collection is JSTOR's largest collection, with over 5.5 million pages available today and scheduled to grow to more than seven million. At its completion, it will comprise a minimum of 160 titles spanning disciplines in the biological, health, and general sciences.
Lexis-Nexis Academic
This multidisciplinary index and full-text database covers news, legal and jurisprudence literature, medicine, business, and reference sources. Separate databases include congressional information, primary sources in US history, and statistical data.
Magill's Medical Guide
The Guide is a perfect mix of accessibility and depth, providing general readers with an authoritative reference source that helps bridge the gap between medical encyclopedias for professionals and popular self-help guides. It is an up-to-date and easy-to-use compendium of medical information suitable for student research as well as use by general readers, including patients and caregivers.
MedicLatina
This database provides access to full-text from 100 peer-reviewed medical research and investigative journals in Spanish.
Medline
An abstracts and citations database for 4,600 current biomedical journals, including medicine, dentistry, nursing, veterinary medicine, and other portions of the health care field.
Natural & Alternative Treatments
An index to health conditions and treatments, using alternative medicine.
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection
This database includes 550 peer-reviewed, full-text journals, as well as other resources for psychology, psychiatry, anthropology, and experimental and observational methods.
Public Library of Science
Free and open access to scholarly biomedical journals online.
PubMed Central
Open access (some free) to journal articles in the biomedical sciences.
PubMed Entrez
A search and retrieval database that includes Medline, PubMed, Medlars, the gene sequencing databases and others. Some full-text.
SPORTDiscus with Full text
Full text coverage dating back to 1985 for more than 520 sports & sports medicine journals.
SpringerLink
Portal to academic journals, books and online media. Mostly scientific, technology medical and business titles.
WorldCat
A combined catalog for many libraries around the world, including books, journals, media, and manuscripts.