Chat Logo
Email Logo Facebook Logo YouTube Logo

Articles & Databases

Browse the databases listed here to find articles and other resources you need. You can also see databases by subject, including trial databases. It is also possible to look up a specific journal. Use your SWAU portal account to access databases off-campus.

Trial Databases

CINAHL Complete
Index of thousands of nursing & allied health journals with full text access to more than twice as many as CINAHL with Full Text.

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I
J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R
S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z

A

Academic Search Complete
Extensive collection of scholarly journals and general interest magazines.
ACM Guide to Computing Literature
Computing literature providing bibliographic citations and abstracts to major publishers in computing.
ACS Publications
Full-text of journals from the American Chemical Society.
Adventist Archives, Statistics and Research
Content pertaining to Seventh-day Adventist history from periodicals, official documents, statistics and directories.
Adventist News Network
News of the global Seventh-day Adventist church.
AGRICOLA
Journal articles, monographs, theses, patents, software, audiovisual materials, and technical reports related to agriculture, back to 1970.
Alternative Health Watch
Full-text of many publications covering complementary and alternative medicine and dating back to 1990.
America: History & Life with Full Text
Index of scholarly literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. It includes the full text of many journals and books.
American Indian Histories and Cultures
Wide range of material from Newberry Library's Edward E. Ayer Collection documenting interactions between American Indians and Europeans from their earliest contact, through the civil rights movement.
American West
Original manuscripts, maps, ephemeral material and rare printed sources on the American West from Newberry Library's Graff Collection.
APS Physics
News and commentary about a selection of papers from the APS journal collection for readers who want to keep up with highlights of physics research with explanations that don't rely on jargon and technical detail.
ARDA Data Archive
Data on religion including U.S. membership data, and from international and U.S. surveys.
arXiv
Research articles in physics, mathematics, computer science, nonlinear sciences, quantitative biology and statistics.
ATLA Cooperative Digital Resources Initiative.
Digital images of woodcuts, photographs, slides, papyri, coins, maps, postcards, manuscripts, lithographs, sermons, shape-note tune books, and various forms of Christian art, architecture, and iconography.
ATLA Religion Database
Index to hundreds of major publications in the field of religion, covering biblical studies, world religions, church history, and social issues, with full text from many journals.

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I
J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R
S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z

B

Biblical Research Institute
Theological resources on areas of discussion within the Seventh-day Adventist church.
Bibliography of Native North Americans
Native North American culture, history, and life, as reported in books, essays, journal articles and government documents from the United States and Canada.
Bioline International
Journals of bioscience and technology produced in developing countries.
BioMed Central
Scholarly journals in the biomedical sciences.
Birds of North America
Life histories for each species of birds breeding in the USA (including Hawaii) and Canada.
Blue Letter Bible
Integrated Bible study tools including interlinear translation, concordance, lexicons, etc.
Book Review Digest Plus
Book reviews on a wide range of topics including serious, academic works from a variety of sources.
Business Abstracts with Full Text
Articles from business magazines and scholarly journals dating back to 1995. Content includes product evaluations, interviews, biographical sketches, corporate profiles, obituaries, surveys, statistical rankings, book reviews and reports from associations, societies, trade shows, conferences and more.
Business Expert Press
Course readings and reference materials that track the business / management curriculum.
Business Source Complete
Scholarly business journals back to 1886.
BusinessUSA
Governement services and information relevant to businesses.

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I
J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R
S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z

C

C-SPAN
Video of proceedings of the U.S. House of Representatives and the U.S. Senate, and to other forums where public policy is discussed, debated and decided.
CAIRSS for Music
Bibliographies of research journals in music. Cross disciplines include education, medicine, psychology, and therapy.
Chadwyck-Healey Literature Collections
Full-text of contemporary American and British poetry and to the literature about them.
Chronicle of Higher Education
News and job information for college and university faculty members, administrators and students. Access to the full text of the current edition. Includes a searchable archive, commentary and essays from the Chronicle Review, and searchable facts and figures from the annual Almanac and other special databases.
CINAHL with Full Text
Index of thousands of nursing & allied health journals with full text access to hundreds of them.
CIRCLE
Resources for Seventh-day Adventist educators.
Cochrane Library
Collection of independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making, including systematic reviews and a register of controlled trials.
College and University Dialogue
Biblical responses to contemporary issues in the arts, humanities, philosophy, religion, and the sciences.
Communication Source
Worldwide content pertaining to communication, linguistics, rhetoric and discourse, speech-language pathology, media studies and related fields.
Computer Source
Full-text for hundreds of publications on the latest information and current trends in computer technology.
Congregational Resource Guide
Database to help leaders of congregations find resources to address their challenges and opportunities.

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I
J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R
S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z

D

Data.gov
U.S. government data, tools, and resources to conduct research, develop web and mobile applications, design data visualizations, and more.
Directory of Open Access Journals
Full text of scholarly and scientific journals in all languages.

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I
J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R
S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z

E

Ebook Central
Full text of science and technology titles especially in computers and information technology, engineering, life and physical sciences, and math.
eBook Collection
Access to thousands of e-books in the library collection.
EBSCO Discovery
This is the all-in-one search box at the top of the every page of the library website, a unified index of most of the library's resources and a single search experience.
Educational Administration Abstracts
Bibliographic records covering areas related to educational administration, including leadership, management, research.
Ellen G. White Letters and Manuscripts
Indexes of EGW's letters and manuscripts including topical and biographical data and inks to full text.
Ellen G. White Writings
The complete writings including books, pamphlets, articles, manuscripts and letters.
Encyclopedia Britannica
Full-text access to the encyclopedia and dictionary articles, an atlas, and recommended Websites.
Encyclopedia of Animals
Easy-to-read full-text entries about mammals, birds, reptiles, amphibians, fish, dinosaurs and prehistoric animals.
ERIC
Index with abstracts of educational and education-related journal articles.
Essay and General Literature Index
Citations for records contained in collections of essays and miscellaneous works published in the United States, Great Britain, and Canada.

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I
J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R
S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z

F

Family Studies Abstracts
Bibliographic records covering areas related to family studies, including marriage, divorce, family therapy.
Films On Demand
Video and multimedia for academic, vocational and life-skills content.
FirstSearch
Platform for searching the following databases: ArticleFirst, ECO, ERIC, GPO, MEDLINE, OAIster, PapersFirst, Proceedings, WorldCat and WorldCatDissertations.
For God and Country
Journal for Seventh-day Adventists in military and public service.
Fuente Academica Premier
Full text of scholarly journals in Spanish.
Funk & Wagnall's New Encyclopedia
Thousands of entries on a wide variety of topics.

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I
J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R
S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z

G

Gale Literary Sources
Biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of novelists, poets, essayists, journalists, and other writers from every age and literary discipline.
GeoRef
References to geoscience journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports and theses covering the geology of North America from 1785 to the present, and the geology of the rest of the world from 1933 to the present, including references to all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey, masters' theses and doctoral dissertations from U.S. and Canadian universities.
Government Printing Office Catalog
Descriptive information for historical and current federal publications as well as direct links to the full document, when available
GreenFILE
Index of scholarly, general interest, and governmert sources on environmental topics with full-text access for many of them.

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I
J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R
S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z

H

Handbook of Latin American Studies
Bibliography of Latin American resources, produced by the U.S. Library of Congress, including materials from 1935 to the present, with many open URL links to full-text resources.
Handbook of Texas
Encyclopedia of Texas history, culture and geography.
Health Reference Center Academic
Articles on fitness, pregnancy, medicine, nutrition, diseases, public health, occupational health and safety, alcohol and drug abuse, HMOs, prescription drugs, etc. For informational purposes only.
Health Source - Consumer Edition
Consumer health information on many topics, including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Scholarly full-text journals in many medical disciplines, with abstracts and indexing for hundreds of journals.
Heritage Quest Online
US Census Bureau records from 1790 to 1930, as well as genealogy records, US revolutionary war records, local history articles, and books.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text
Index of scholarly literature covering the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more. It includes the full text of many journals and books.
Hobbies & Crafts Reference Center
Content about popular hobbies, crafts and recreation activities. It includes magazines and books, as well as videos and hobby reports, "how-to" instructions and creative ideas.
Home Improvement Reference Center
Repair instructions, tips and suggestions in the areas of outdoor projects, electrical projects, remodeling projects, plumbing projects, wood projects, decorating projects and maintenance.
Humanities Full Text
Index to academic journals in the humanities dating as far back as 1984. Full text of articles from selected periodicals dating back to 1995, including feature articles, interviews, bibliographies, obituaries, and original works of fiction, drama, poetry and book reviews, as well as reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, radio and television programs, plays and operas.

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I
J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R
S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z

I

IBISWorld
Market Research reports covering every industry in the U.S.
Information Science & Technology Abstracts
Index of journals, books, research reports, and conference proceedings related to information science.
International Music Score Library Project
Music scores in the public domain including a large collection of scores and recordings by many composers. Also known as the Petrucci Music Library.

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I
J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R
S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z

J

JSTOR
Full-text of back issues of several hundred well-known journals.

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I
J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R
S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z

L

Learning Express Library
Career-oriented and academic resources available to help with job preparation, career advancement, career changes, and re-entry into the workforce. Access to hundreds of online practice tests, including GED, SAT, ACT, GMAT, GRE, LSAT, and MCAT.
Legal Collection
Full-text of hundreds of scholarly law journals.
Legal Forms
State-specific forms to support many legal tasks, especially those that business owners need to manage, such as patents and trademarks, developing leases, creating bills of sale, delegating power of attorney, etc.
Legal Information Reference Center
Full text of consumer legal reference books such as Neighbor Law: Fences, trees, boundaries and noise, U.S. Immigration Made Easy and Beat Your Ticket: Go to court and win.
Liberty Magazine
Articles on religious freedom.
Literary Reference Center
Full-text from reference works, books, literary journals and other sources, including plot summaries, synopses and work overviews, articles/essays of literary criticisms, author biographies, book reviews, classic and contemporary poems, classic and contemporary short stories, author interviews and classic texts.
Literature Resource Center
Biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of novelists, poets, essayists, journalists, and other writers from every age and literary discipline.

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I
J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R
S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z

M

MAS Ultra - School Edition
Information resources for high schoolers, including magazines, pamphlets, reference books, biographies, primary source documents, images, photos, maps, and flags
MasterFILE Premiere
Full text of general-interest publications dating as far back as 1975, including biographies, primary source documents, and an Image Collection of photos, maps and flags.
MathSciNet
Reviews, abstracts and bibliographic information for mathematical sciences literature.
Medici TV
Online video collection and live-broadcast streaming of classical music, operas and ballets.
MedicLatina
Full-text from many medical research and investigative journals in Spanish.
Medline
Index withs abstracts for thousands of current biomedical journals. Disciplines include medicine, dentistry, nursing, and veterinary medicine.
Metropolitan Museum of Art
Free non-commercial access to hundreds of thousands of high-resolution digital images of public domain works in the Museum's world-renowned collection.
Middle Search Plus
Popular magazines, biographies, primary source documents, and images for middle school students.
Military & Government
Full-text of hundreds of periodicals and journals, and abstracts to additional sources of news and scholarly information on all branches of the military.
Ministry Magazine
Professional journal directed primarily to Adventist pastors and religious professionals and then to clergy of other religious groups.
MLA Directory of Periodicals
Detailed information about thousands of journals on the English language and literature.
MLA International Bibliography
Index of articles, books, proceedings and other papers on languages, folklore, and literature from 1963 to the present.
Mutopia Project
Sheet music editions of classical music in the public domain, including works by Bach, Beethoven, Chopin, Handel, Mozart, and many others.

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I
J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R
S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z

N

NASA Image and Video Library
Growing collection of tens on thousands of aerospace images, audio and video previously scattered in more than 100 collections.
NASA Technical Reports Server
Aerospace-related citations, conference papers, journal articles, meeting papers, patents, research reports, images, movies, and technical videos.
National Archives Catalog
Portal to the National Archives records and information about them.
Natural & Alternative Treatments
Index to health conditions and treatments, using alternative medicine.
Naxos Music Library
Classical music, jazz, world, folk and chinese music tracks. Whilst listening, you can read notes on the works being played as well as biographical information on composers or artists.
New Pauly Online
Reference work for the ancient world with special emphasis on the interaction between Greco-Roman culture, and Semitic, Celtic, Germanic and Slavonic culture, as well as ancient Judaism, Christianity, and Islam. Many entries include maps, illustrations, and bibliographic references.
Newspaper Source
National and regional newspapers, as well as television and radio news transcripts.

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I
J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R
S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z

O

Occupational Outlook Handbook
Information on hundreds of occupations including the training and education needed, earnings, expected job prospects, the nature of the work, and working conditions.
OpenSecrets.org
Data and analysis on money in politics from The Center for Responsive Politics to inform and engage Americans, champion transparency, and expose disproportionate or undue influence on public policy.
Oxford English Dictionary Online
Updated quarterly with between one and two thousand new and revised entries.

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I
J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R
S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z

P

Perspective Digest
Simplified versions of significant articles from the Journal of the Adventist Theological Society
Pew Research Center
Public opinion polling, demographic research, media content analysis and other empirical social science research about issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world.
Play Index
Thousand of plays written from Antiquity to the present. Written in or translated into English, they include mysteries, pageants, plays in verse, puppet performances, radio and television plays, and classic drama.
Primary Search
Full text of popular magazines for elementary school research.
Professional Development Collection
Full-text journal articles in the education field.
Pronunciator
Computer-assisted language learning site and mobile app that includes live tutors, feature films, music with lyrics, pronunciation analysis, quizzes, and more. It features ESL for 50 non-English languages.
PsycARTICLES
Full text of scholarly articles in psychology including current scholarship and historical content dating back more than a century.
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection
Full text journals, as well as other resources for psychology, psychiatry, anthropology, and experimental and observational methods.
PsycINFO
Abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations in behavioral science and mental health.
PubChem
Database of chemical compounds, structures, bioassays, and substances.
Public Library of Science
Scholarly biomedical journals online.
PubMed
Journal articles in the biomedical sciences.
PubMed Entrez
Aggregation of Medline, PubMed, Medlars, the gene sequencing databases and others. Some full text.

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I
J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R
S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z

R

Race Relations Abstracts
Bibliographic records covering areas related to race relations, including ethnic studies, discrimination, immigration studies.
Regional Business News
Full text of regional business publications, including journals, newspapers, and newswires.
Religion & Philosophy
Full text of journals on world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, and philosophy.

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I
J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R
S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z

S

Salud en Español
Evidence-based reports and fact sheets in Spanish covering all aspects of health and wellness, including overviews on diseases, conditions, procedures and various treatments.
Science & Technology Collection
Full-text of hundreds of journals on topics of aeronautics, astrophysics, chemistry, computer technology, geology, aviation, physics, archaeology, and materials science.
Science in Context
Contextual information on significant current science topics. It integrates curriculum-aligned reference content with headlines and videos, to show students how scientific disciplines relate to real-world issues, from weather patterns to obesity.
SciTech Collection Premium
Full text of scholarly output in science and engineering, including papers and gray literature.
SciTech Connect
Science, technology, and engineering research information from the U.S. Department of Energy.
Serials Directory
Current bibliographic and pricing information for popular serials and newspapers.
Seventh-day Adventist Obituary Index
Index to obituaries appearing in Seventh-day Adventist periodicals in English and dating back to 1850.
Seventh-day Adventist Periodical Index
Index to most Seventh-day Adventist periodicals in English dating back to 1970. Some links to full text are available.
Seventh-day Adventist Yearbook
Information on SDA institutions and organizations.
Short Story Index
Important collections and anthologies of short stories covering all literary genres.
Small Business Reference Center
Resource for small business owners and those interested in starting a business, offering full-text periodicals and reports, sample business plans, U.S. tax forms, videos and reference books.
Small Engine Repair Reference Center
Repair manuals that provide step-by-step procedures based upon the complete disassembly of the machine with photos and illustrations. Content derived from the full set of small engine repair manuals from Clymer covering larger engines from motorcycles, ATVs, marine/boat motors, personal watercraft engines and snowmobiles, as well as smaller engines, like lawn mowers, tractors, snow blowers, tillers, generators and more.
SPORTDiscus with Full text
Full text of hundreds of sports & sports medicine journals dating back to 1985.
SpringerLink
Academic journals, books and online media. Mostly scientific, technology medical and business titles.
SWAU's Fossil Catalog
Digital images of fossils recovered from Southwestern Adventist University's excavation in the Lance Formation of eastern Wyoming.

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I
J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R
S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z

T

Teacher Reference Center
Index with abstracts of teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators.
TeachingBooks
Resources about fiction and nonfiction books used in the K-12 environment aiming to encourage the integration of multimedia author and book materials into reading and library activities.
Texas Digital Sanborn Maps
Property and land-use records of Texas towns and cities from 1867 to 1970. Details on buildings include outline, size and shape, construction materials, height, use, windows and doors, street and sidewalk widths, boundaries and house numbers.
Texas Investor Education
Investor information and resources, financial calculators, and more for every stage of life: youth, seniors, military, teachers, and families. It is also possible to get a background check on an investment professional or file a complaint. Free educational books and brochures available for download.
Texas Legislature Online
Texas legislative bills, amendments, statutes, constitution, administrative code, etc.
Texas Reference Center
Journals and books about Texas history, diversity, literature, and living.
The Adventist Chaplain
Quarterly publication of Adventist Chaplancy Ministries.
The Journal of Adventist Education
Informational and practical articles on a variety of topics relating to Christian education.
The Portal to Texas History
Gateway to Texas history digital materials from Texas libraries, museums, archives, historical societies, genealogical societies, and private family collections.
TOPIC Search
Current events database for exploring social, political & economic issues, scientific discoveries, and other topics.
TOXNET
Group of databases covering chemicals and drugs, diseases and the environment, environmental health, occupational safety and health, poisoning, risk assessment and regulations, and toxicology.

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I
J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R
S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z

U

UNdata
Global statistics for all subject areas. Major topics include agriculture, employment, education, energy, environment, health, human development, industry, information and communication technology, population, refugees, trade, and tourism.
US Patents and Trademarks
Index and full-text for US patent applications and issued patents.

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I
J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R
S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z

V

Vocational & Career Collection
Full text of hundreds of trade and industry-related periodicals of interest to high schools, community colleges, trade institutions, and the general public.

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I
J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R
S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z

W

Web of Science
Scientific citation indexing service of cross-disciplinary research.
Web of Science Journal Title Abbreviations
List of abbreviations used for journal titles indexed in Web of Science
White Estate Digital Resource Center
Documents pertaining a wide range of issues related to the Seventh-day Adventist Church in connection with church cofounder Ellen G. White.
WorldCat
A combined catalog for many libraries around the world, including books, journals, media, and manuscripts.