Multidisciplinary Databases

Use the databases listed here to locate sources of information for research across academic disciplines.

Academic Search Complete
Extensive collection of scholarly journals and general interest magazines.
ARTstor
Online library of more than one million images with tools for teaching and research. Its collections comprise contributions from outstanding museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists' estates from all over the world. The collections encompass a wide variety of subject areas, including art, architecture, music, religion, anthropology, literature, world history, American Studies, Asian Studies, Classical Studies, Medieval Studies, Renaissance Studies, and more. Subject guides available.
Chronicle of Higher Education
Weekly news and job-information source for college and university faculty members, administrators and students. Access to the full text of the current edition. Includes a searchable archive, commentary and essays from the Chronicle Review, and searchable facts and figures from the annual Almanac and other special databases.
Credo Reference
Credo Reference is a general reference solution for learners and researchers. Our full-text content covers every major subject from the world's best publishers of reference.
eBook Collection
Access to 28,000+ e-books from EBSCO.
Encyclopedia Britannica
Full-text access to the encyclopedia, atlas, and dictionary articles of Encyclopedia Britannica, as well as EB's recommended Websites.
Films On Demand
Films Media Group is the leading source of high-quality video and multimedia for academic, vocational and life-skills content. Films Media Group serves the education community through its four brands: Films for the Humanities and Sciences, Cambridge Educational, Meridian Education, and Shopware.
Fuente Academica
This database of Spanish scholarly, academic journals provides full-text from 200 journals.
Funk & Wagnall's New Encyclopedia
This database includes 25,000 entries on a wide variety of topics.
GreenFILE
GreenFILE indexes scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports. The database contains nearly 300,000 records, full text for selected titles and searchable cited references for more than 200 titles as well.
Handbook of Texas Online
A multidisciplinary encyclopedia of Texas history, culture and geography.
InfoTrac Newsstand
News articles from more than 1,000 newspapers.
ISI Web of Knowledge
Quickly find, analyze, and manage information in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities with this versatile workflow solution.
Job & Career Accelerator
Career selection and job search guide. Access to information on and tools for everything from creating resumes to assessing career alternatives.
JSTOR - Arts & Sciences I Collection
Established in 1997, JSTOR's first collection includes core journals in economics, history, political science, and sociology, as well as in other key fields in the humanities and social sciences. This collection also contains titles in ecology, mathematics, and statistics. Overall, there are 119 titles in twenty-one disciplines.
JSTOR - Life Sciences Collection
The Life Sciences Collection is JSTOR's largest collection, with over 5.5 million pages available today and scheduled to grow to more than seven million. At its completion, it will comprise a minimum of 160 titles spanning disciplines in the biological, health, and general sciences.
Learning Express Library
Comprehensive selection of career-oriented and academic resources available to help with job preparation, career advancement, career changes, and re-entry into the workforce. Access to more than 800 online practice tests, including GED, SAT, ACT, GMAT, GRE, LSAT, and MCAT.
Lexis-Nexis Academic
This multidisciplinary index and full-text database covers news, legal and jurisprudence literature, medicine, business, and reference sources. Separate databases include congressional information, primary sources in US history, and statistical data.
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts
Provides coverage on subjects such as librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. Delivered via the EBSCOhost platform, LISTA indexes nearly 600 periodicals plus books, research reports, and proceedings. Coverage dating back to the mid-1960s.
Literature Resource Center
Literature Resource Center provides access to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline. Combining Gale Group's core literary databases in a single online service, the Literature Resource Center covers more than 120,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists, and other writers, with in-depth coverage of 2,500 of the most-studied authors.
MagPortal
Indexes 150+ journals available online.
MasterFILE Premiere
This general interest database provides full text for nearly 2,050 general reference publications with full text information dating as far back as 1975, including biographies, primary source documents, and an Image Collection of photos, maps and flags.
New Pauly Online
Reference work for the ancient world with special emphasis on the interaction between Greco-Roman culture, and Semitic, Celtic, Germanic and Slavonic culture, as well as ancient Judaism, Christianity, and Islam. Many entries are elucidated with maps and illustrations. Updated bibliographic references.
Newspaper Source
This database includes 30 national and 200 regional newspapers, as well as television and radio news transcripts.
Occupational Outlook Handbook
Provides information on hundreds of different types of jobs including the training and education needed, earnings, expected job prospects, what workers do on the job, working conditions.
Oxford English Dictionary Online
Updated quarterly with between one and two thousand new and revised entries, OED Online offers unparalleled access to the "greatest continuing work of scholarship that this century has produced" (Newsweek).
SpringerLink
Portal to academic journals, books and online media. Mostly scientific, technology medical and business titles.
Texas Reference Center
This database covers 80 journals and books about Texas history, diversity, literature, and living.
TOPIC Search
This current events database allows researchers to explore social, political & economic issues, scientific discoveries, and other topics.
Vocational & Career Collection
This database provides full-text coverage from more than 350 trade and industry-related periodicals of interest to high schools, community colleges, trade institutions, and the general public.
Wall Street Journal
Access to locked subscriber content on the Journal's website. Access with your own custom link or to unlock the mobile app requires registration.
WorldCat
A combined catalog for many libraries around the world, including books, journals, media, and manuscripts.