Science and Technology Databases

Use the databases listed here to locate sources of information for research on physics, chemistry, geology and biology.

Academic Search Complete
Extensive collection of scholarly journals and general interest magazines.
ACM Guide to Computing Literature
This portal to computing literature provides bibliographic citations and abstracts to major publishers in computing.
ACS Publications
This full-text database includes 30 journals from the American Chemical Society.
AGRICOLA
This database includes journal articles, monographs, theses, patents, software, audiovisual materials, and technical reports related to agriculture, back to 1970.
Bioline International
A database of quality, open access journals of bioscience and technology produced in developing countries.
BioMed Central
Free and open access to more than 100 scholarly journals in the biomedical sciences.
CINAHL with Full Text
Comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing indexing to more than 3,000 journals and full text for more than 610, 317 of which are not found in other EBSCO databases.
Computer Source
This database offers full-text for 300 publications on the latest information and current trends in high technology.
Credo Reference
Credo Reference is a general reference solution for learners and researchers. Our full-text content covers every major subject from the world's best publishers of reference.
Directory of Open Access Journals
Free and open access to 2000+ scholarly and scientific journals in all languages.
Films On Demand
Films Media Group is the leading source of high-quality video and multimedia for academic, vocational and life-skills content. Films Media Group serves the education community through its four brands: Films for the Humanities and Sciences, Cambridge Educational, Meridian Education, and Shopware.
Google Scholar
A database of contributed journal articles, in beta test phase, covering many academic disciplines, with science and medicine most heavily represented.
GreenFILE
GreenFILE indexes scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports. The database contains nearly 300,000 records, full text for selected titles and searchable cited references for more than 200 titles as well.
HighWire Press
This site hosts the largest repository of free, full-text life science articles in the world.
Information Science & Technology Abstracts
This database indexes 450 journals, books, research reports, and conference proceedings related to information science.
InfoTrac Newsstand
News articles from more than 1,000 newspapers.
Internet & Personal Computing Abstracts
This database provides abstracting and indexing for 400 trade publications, mainstream computer magazines, and professional journals related to personal computing products and developments in business, on the Internet and other applied areas.
ISI Web of Knowledge
Quickly find, analyze, and manage information in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities with this versatile workflow solution.
JSTOR - Arts & Sciences I Collection
Established in 1997, JSTOR's first collection includes core journals in economics, history, political science, and sociology, as well as in other key fields in the humanities and social sciences. This collection also contains titles in ecology, mathematics, and statistics. Overall, there are 119 titles in twenty-one disciplines.
JSTOR - Home
Search our JSTOR collections online. JSTOR is an online system for archiving academic journals, providing full-text searches of digitized back issues of several hundred well-known journals.
JSTOR - Life Sciences Collection
The Life Sciences Collection is JSTOR's largest collection, with over 5.5 million pages available today and scheduled to grow to more than seven million. At its completion, it will comprise a minimum of 160 titles spanning disciplines in the biological, health, and general sciences.
Lexis-Nexis Academic
This multidisciplinary index and full-text database covers news, legal and jurisprudence literature, medicine, business, and reference sources. Separate databases include congressional information, primary sources in US history, and statistical data.
Oxford English Dictionary Online
Updated quarterly with between one and two thousand new and revised entries, OED Online offers unparalleled access to the "greatest continuing work of scholarship that this century has produced" (Newsweek).
PubChem
This is a database of chemical compounds, structures, bioassays, and substances.
Public Library of Science
Free and open access to scholarly biomedical journals online.
PubMed Entrez
A search and retrieval database that includes Medline, PubMed, Medlars, the gene sequencing databases and others. Some full-text.
Science & Technology Collection
This database provides full-text from 800 journals on topics of aeronautics, astrophysics, chemistry, computer technology, geology, aviation, physics, archaeology, and materials science.
SpringerLink
Portal to academic journals, books and online media. Mostly scientific, technology medical and business titles.
US Patents and Trademarks
Index and full-text for US patent applications and issued patents.
WorldCat
A combined catalog for many libraries around the world, including books, journals, media, and manuscripts.