Social Sciences Databases

Use the databases listed here to locate sources of information for research on anthropology, archaeology, criminology, economics, education, government, linguistics, international relations, political science, sociology, geography, history, law, and psychology.

Academic Search Complete
Extensive collection of scholarly journals and general interest magazines.
America: History & Life with Full Text
Index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. Includes full text of over 200 journals and 100 books.
American Indian Histories and Cultures
Wide range of material from Newberry Library's Edward E. Ayer Collection documenting interactions between American Indians and Europeans from their earliest contact, through the civil rights movement.
American West
Mix of original manuscripts, maps, ephemeral material and rare printed sources on the American West from Newberry Library's Graff Collection.
Bibliography of Native North Americans
This database covers all aspects of native North American culture, history, and life, as reported in books, essays, journal articles and government documents from the United States and Canada.
Chronicle of Higher Education
Weekly news and job-information source for college and university faculty members, administrators and students. Access to the full text of the current edition. Includes a searchable archive, commentary and essays from the Chronicle Review, and searchable facts and figures from the annual Almanac and other special databases.
Communication Source
Worldwide content pertaining to communication, linguistics, rhetoric and discourse, speech-language pathology, media studies and related fields.
Credo Reference
Credo Reference is a general reference solution for learners and researchers. Our full-text content covers every major subject from the world's best publishers of reference.
Directory of Open Access Journals
Free and open access to 2000+ scholarly and scientific journals in all languages.
Educational Administration Abstracts
Bibliographic records covering areas related to educational administration, including leadership, management, research, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.
Ellen G. White Writings
Search the complete published writings including books, pamphlets and articles.
ERIC
ERIC, the Educational Resource Information Center, contains more than 2,200 digests along with references for additional information and citations and abstracts from over 1,000 educational and education-related journals.
Google Scholar
A database of contributed journal articles, in beta test phase, covering many academic disciplines, with science and medicine most heavily represented.
GreenFILE
GreenFILE indexes scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports. The database contains nearly 300,000 records, full text for selected titles and searchable cited references for more than 200 titles as well.
Handbook of Latin American Studies
This bibliography of Latin American resources, produced by the U.S. Library of Congress, includes materials from 1935 to the present, with many open URL links to full-text resources.
Handbook of Texas Online
A multidisciplinary encyclopedia of Texas history, culture and geography.
Heritage Quest Online
Access to US Census Bureau records, 1790 to 1930, as well as genealogy records, US revolutionary war records, local history articles, and books.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text
Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more. Includes the full text of more than 330 journals and 119 books.
In the First Person
An index to letters, diaries, and oral history narratives in English from 3000+ collections around the world.
JSTOR - Arts & Sciences I Collection
Established in 1997, JSTOR's first collection includes core journals in economics, history, political science, and sociology, as well as in other key fields in the humanities and social sciences. This collection also contains titles in ecology, mathematics, and statistics. Overall, there are 119 titles in twenty-one disciplines.
Legal Collection
This database contains full-text for 250 scholarly law journals.
Lexis-Nexis Academic
This multidisciplinary index and full-text database covers news, legal and jurisprudence literature, medicine, business, and reference sources. Separate databases include congressional information, primary sources in US history, and statistical data.
Mango Languages
Computer-assisted language learning software that provides interactive step by step lesson plans for 60+ different languages, including modern languages like English and Spanish, and biblical languages like Koine Greek and Hebrew.
Metropolitan Museum of Art
Free non-commercial access to hundreds of thousands of high-resolution digital images of public domain works in the Museum's world-renowned collection.
Military & Government
Full-text for more than 400 periodicals and journals, and abstracts additional sources of news and scholarly information on all branches of the military.
New Pauly Online
Reference work for the ancient world with special emphasis on the interaction between Greco-Roman culture, and Semitic, Celtic, Germanic and Slavonic culture, as well as ancient Judaism, Christianity, and Islam. Many entries are elucidated with maps and illustrations. Updated bibliographic references.
Newspaper Source
This database includes 30 national and 200 regional newspapers, as well as television and radio news transcripts.
Oxford English Dictionary Online
Updated quarterly with between one and two thousand new and revised entries, OED Online offers unparalleled access to the "greatest continuing work of scholarship that this century has produced" (Newsweek).
Pew Hispanic Center
Provides free information on issues, attitudes, trends and other aspects of the U.S. Hispanic population.
Professional Development Collection
This database provides the most comprehensive collection of full text education journals available.
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection
This database includes 550 peer-reviewed, full-text journals, as well as other resources for psychology, psychiatry, anthropology, and experimental and observational methods.
PsycINFO
Resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations in behavioral science and mental health.
Seventh-day Adventist Obituary Index
An index to obituaries that appear in Seventh-day Adventist Church periodicals. It covers from 1850 to the current year.
Seventh-day Adventist Periodical Index
This index to more than 40 Seventh-day Adventist periodicals extends from 1970 to the present. Some links to full text are available.
Seventh-day Adventist Yearbook
This database provides information on SDA institutions and organizations.
Texas Digital Sanborn Maps
Historic plans of Texas towns, 1867 ? 1970.
Web of Science
Quickly find, analyze, and manage information in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities with this versatile workflow solution.
WorldCat
A combined catalog for many libraries around the world, including books, journals, media, and manuscripts.